Washington County Vermont

Welcome to the Vermont AHGP new home on the web. My name is Judy White and I will be taking care of this site until a new State Coordinator steps forward!! Things will stay pretty much the same as they were, except we will add new information, new county coordinators and needed repairs. If you would like to join us, please just click on Webmaster!

Washington County was incorporated November 1, 1810, by act of the Legislature, and organized December 1, 1811, with Montpelier as the shire town, taking from the county of Caledonia, Montpelier, Plainfield, Calais, and Marshfield; from Orange, Barre, Berlin, and Northfield; from Chittenden, Stowe, Waterbury, Duxbury, Fayston, Waitsfield, Moretown, Middlesex, and Worcester, and was called Jefferson County until 1814, when, the Federal party coming into power, it was changed to Washington. It is about 34 miles from north to south, and 31 from east to west, between lat. 44° 1' and 44° 32', and long. 4° 10', east from Washington; bounded N. by Lamoille and Caledonia Counties; E. by Caledonia and Orange Counties S. by Orange and Addison Counties, and W. by Addison and Chittenden Counties. There has been added to it, Roxbury from Orange County, in 1820, Elmore from Orleans, in 1821, Warren from Addison, in 1829, Woodbury from Caledonia, in 1835, and Cabot from Caledonia, in 1855.

Washington County Towns and Villages, 1882

Barre<NEW> Berlin<NEW> Cabot<NEW>
Calais<NEW> Fayston<NEW> Marshfield<NEW>
Middlesex<NEW> Montpelier<NEW> Moretown
Northfield<NEW> Plainfield<NEW> Roxbury<NEW>
Waitsfield<NEW> Warren<NEW> Waterbury<NEW>
Woodbury<NEW> ... Worchester<NEW>

Vermont AHGP


Please Come back Soon!!


Back to AHGP

Copyright August © 2011 - 2018 AHGP The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.